Fourth Paul Torday prize shortlist announced

The Society of Authors (SoA) has announced the shortlist for the Paul Torday Memorial Prize 2022.

The Paul Torday Memorial Prize is awarded to a first novel by a writer over 60. The prize includes a set of the collected works of British writer Paul Torday, who published his first novel Salmon Fishing in the Yemen at the age of 60.  

Judged by Mavis Cheek, Denise Mina and Donald S Murray.  

The shortlistees are:  

  • John Fletcher for Wuhan (Head of Zeus) 
  • Jane Fraser for Advent (Honno Press) 
  • Anthony English for Death of a Coast Watcher (Monsoon Books)  
  • Yvonne Bailey-Smith for The Day I Fell Off My Island (Myriad Editions) 
  • Michael Mallon for The Disciple (Zuleika) 

Paul Torday Memorial Prize judge Donald S Murray said:  

Judging the Paul Torday Award was like embarking on an exploration of the world, both in its past and present shapes and forms. It took me to a wide range of times and places, to edges of both history and humanity where I had rarely stepped before. I felt both enriched and honoured by many of my encounters during the experience.  

Previous winners were Kathy O’Shaughnessy, Anne Youngson and Donald S Murray. 

Total prize fund: £1,000.